jump to navigation

Review: Demona by K.R. Hulsey June 17, 2014

Posted by Al Philipson in Reviews.
trackback

 I finished a book on my Kindle and browsed for another to read and selected Demona. I was well into the story when I discovered that some of the scenes sounded familiar. Turns out I’d read it before, but I couldn’t quit reading it again. I think I’ll remember it now (I must have been horribly distracted the first time; probably around the time my wife was having a hard time with her health and half of my reading was done in her hospital room while she slept).

Demona has had a hard life as a tortured slave of a “normal” human who displays her in a ring for the derision and missiles of a small crowd of sickoes. Her brother rescues her and they start the journey home. But Demona is a hard one to control since she’s been reduced to animal reactions by her years of abuse.

Most of the book is about the journey home and her redemption – if she can survive that long.

There are two other story lines. One of them merges with Demona’s adventure. The other one is still hanging out in left field at the end of the book.

I was intrigued and hated putting the book down in the evening when it was bedtime. The only saving grace was that I’d remind myself that it wasn’t going away and would be there tomorrow evening.

The story is not finished in book one and there’s a huge hole (and a teaser) at the end for the next book in the series. However, some of the plot lines are settled enough to satisfy most readers.

What I want to know is: WHERE’S THE NEXT BOOK??? I want a copy.

The only problem I had with the book (which is why I took a star away) was that it needed copy editing by another pair of eyes. There are very few published books in the world which are perfect in spelling and punctuation, but this has too many of these minor glitches. Still, there aren’t so many that the flow of the story wasn’t interrupted enough to throw me mentally out of the plot.

I highly recommend this book for people who like a bit of magic with their fantasy adventures.

4-stars

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

